Tips From Our Blog 800.342.0070

Year in Review

Here is a quick review of Closet City news from the last few years.

10KSB groupShot2APRIL 2016: Our GM was among the ninth cohort of 29 graduates who completed the Goldman Sachs 10,000 Small Businesses Greater Philadelphia program. The business leaders involved in this program spent 14 weeks (roughly 100 class hours) at the Community College of Philadelphia. They studied a business and management curriculum that covered accounting and human resources. They also studied negotiation and marketing, among other topics. The program also included one on one business advising, accounting workshops, and advice from Goldman Sachs professionals. (Program applications are accepted by on a rolling basis. Business owners can review more info about this program by visiting the 10KSB website.)

 

TH72 CabinetryWallTH72 Walkin HisHersComboTH72 JewelDrawersOpenTH72 JewelPulloutsFEBRUARY 2016: Once again the BucksMont chapter of NARI presented our senior designer, Janet Stevenson, with a Contractor of the Year award. It was in the Interior Design/Space Planning category, and was for a massive walk in closet and dressing room.

 

OFFICE twotoneEVENT 815bLIGHTS ShowroomView webOFFICE white5991webFALL 2015: We remodeled several portions of our showrooms. They now feature reach in closets, walk in closets, and a large pantry. We also have commercial work stations, a gorgeous home office, a wall bed, and so much more. When you are in the neighborhood, you really should stop in to see all of it in person!

 

DressingRoom HomePageAPRIL 2015: Our design consultant, Janet Stevenson, happily accepted two “Top Shelf Design” awards during the Closets & Cabinetry Expo that year. One was a category award, the second was for a perfect score as an “overall winner”! Our award winning project was an extensive master walk in closet and dressing room. It included floor to ceiling cabinetry and a vanity with a Hollywood style mirror. Our blog features three posts that detail our handiwork in designing and installing this project. The first blog post is entitled “Dressing Room Bling“.

 

NARIcoty PRO2015sqJANUARY 2015: During their annual awards ceremony, the members of BucksMont NARI surprised our designer, Janet Stevenson. They presented her with an “Excellence in Professionalism” award. It is another Contractor of the Year award we are all proud to display!

DH14web hersDH14web hisDH14web girlsDH14web boys

 

DH14web pantryNOVEMBER 2014: Philadelphia magazine’s Design Home 2014 was a highly successful fundraising event that benefited MANNA. It featured Closet City as the “closet and storage professional of choice”. In this beautiful new home in Wyndmoor PA, we tricked out several bedroom closets. These included two highly unusual, challenging master closets! Each featured amenities such as lighted drawers, hidden hampers, and full length pivoting mirrors. And, each had cabinetry and shelving built to fit amongst the dormer windows and slanted ceilings. Our work at the Design Home also included an impressive pantry located just off of the kitchen.

 

WL LIQUOR web73SEPTEMBER 2014: We are always looking to offer our clients new, innovative, and practical means of storing their possessions. (No matter what those items may be!) So, Closet City is now a local distributor of the “WineLogic” rack system for storing wine bottles. WineLogic storage racks can be easily installed into any existing cabinet. The racks come in several sizes, and are able to store anywhere from 12 to 30 bottles at a time. Furthermore, these storage systems are Made in the USA! You can visit our WineLogic page for more details.

 

Closet City celebrates our 30th ANNIVERSARY!

MAY 2014: We have been servicing residential and commercial clients in the tri-state area for 30 years! We provide them with innovative, practical, and stylish solutions to all of their storage problems.

RGB72 Jewel lights2FEBRUARY 2014: Our design consultant, Janet Stevenson, happily accepted yet another “Contractor of the Year” award from the BucksMont chapter of NARI. This year’s award winning project was an extensive master walk in closet. It included floor to ceiling cabinetry and a dazzling jewelry boutique island in the center of the room. Our blog features three separate posts detailing our handiwork. You will enjoy the photos while reading all about “Dressing Room Bling“. This very same project earned national recognition during the Top Shelf Design Awards in January 2015. (We mentioned this at the top of this page.)

MBEDwhiteOpen400JANUARY 2014: More homeowners are looking to improve their existing homes rather than move to larger ones. Because of this, interest in Murphy Beds has rekindled. In response to this interest, we proudly offer wall beds in twin, full, and queen sizes. The beds are available in either a traditional lengthwise or space saving side tilt. We design surrounding wall bed cabinetry and storage systems to suit your personal needs. We can also fabricate your bed in virtually any color or wood grain finish we offer. You can visit our Murphy Bed page for more info and photos.

Previous Events and Awards

DH13 pantryNOVEMBER 2013: This was our fourth year in a row as closet and storage professional of choice for Philadelphia magazine’s annual Design Home! This massive 8000 square foot home in Wyndmoor drew thousands of visitors. In addition, all ticket proceeds benefited the Philadelphia Ronald McDonald house. Our sponsorship included a stately walk in closet for him, and a dressing room with SIX surrounding reach in closets for her. We also provided organizing systems in the guest room closets throughout the home. And, we tricked out the kitchen pantry too. You can view photos from each Design Home from 2013 back to 2009 by visiting the magazine’s site.

DH13 dressingroom   DH13 hisCloset   DH13 hisTierack

 

JUNE 2013: Our boss was interviewed again! Furthermore, he was featured as an expert source of info and photos for an article on Garage Organization. This time it was in Montgomery and Bucks County’s issues of House & Home magazine. If you did not know we also design and install garage cabinets and organizing systems, you need to check this out!

FEBRUARY 2013: We earned another award!

dh11 hersb 72This was our fourth year in a row to be awarded “Contractor of the Year” by the BucksMont chapter of NARI. The award was in the Interior Design / Space Planning category. This time, our design and installation staff earned an award for their handiwork in “Carol’s Closet”. This was a walk in closet featured in a previous Design Home fundraiser. The project challenged our crew with a long narrow footprint, multiple windows, heating elements, and angled ceilings. The closet was tricked out with all sorts of gadgets and upgrade options. And, you can click on this link to view what has been nick-named a “dream closet“.

WT ceilingDR 72rgbDECEMBER 2012: We are now a distributor and installer of WoodTrac Ceiling systems. This easy-to-install product is available to homeowners who are handy and like to do their own home improvements. It is also perfect for local contractors who are looking for additional products to offer their clients. The ceiling systems we offer are easily attached to existing ceiling grids and come in four wood grain choices. They are available in a paintable panel or classic white as well.

Design Home, OCTOBER 2012.

HOME HIS DH812The 2012 Design Home was the third year in a row that featured Closet City as a sponsor of this tremendous fund raiser (then in its 11th year). The interior of this Newtown Square, PA home was fantastic! Our portion of this well appointed home included two beautiful master walk-in closets. We also provided organizers in the smaller childrens’ rooms, and the utility closets.

HOME HERS DH812We featured two brand new melamine finishes in the master walk-in closets. Hers was constructed in a delicious “White Chocolate” finish, while his featured a decatant “Hot Cinnamon” wood grain. Both closets offered ample storage for the future homeowners. They also showcased the latest handy organizing gadgets and accessories.

Each closet featured a variety of storage options and organizing “gadgets”. These included a pivoting, full length mirror, hamper baskets, and a jewelry drawer insert. We also included a Rev-A-Shelf “Shoe Zen”, and a folding ironing board that fits into a drawer! You can see all of the various sponsors’ involvement in the home, and tour it room by room via this link to Philadelphia magazine’s “Virtual Tour”. The 2012 Design Home was exciting to visit as it featured so much new technology. It also had beautiful room treatments, and incredible landscaping. And the best part was that 100% of the ticket proceeds went to the Philadelphia Ronald McDonald House! (For example, the 2011 home had 4000 visitors, and over $70,000 was raised.)

OFFICE LibraryFEBRUARY 2012: Closet City was awarded “2012 Contractor of the Year” by the BucksMont chapter of NARI. (NARI stands for the National Association of the Remodeling Industry). This was our third year in a row to win this award! Presented in January 2012 to our design consultant and space planner, Janet Stevenson, the award was for the home office portion of a massive “Gentleman’s Library” remodeling project.

dh2011 logorgb72SEPTEMBER 2011: We were again one of the proud sponsors of Philadelphia magazine’s Design Home. We were honored to be the exclusive closet and storage professional for this fund raising project the second year in a row. Proceeds from tour ticket sales benefited the Philadelphia Ronald McDonald House, and tours ran mid-September thru mid-October. We outfitted a total of six bedroom closets and a mudroom closet in this Haverford home. Photos of a few of our installations from this home are provided here. (And, “Carol’s” white and orange closet won the People’s Choice award in the national Top Shelf Award competition. This annual competition is sponsored by Closets magazine.)

dh11 pink 72   dh11 his shelvs72   dh11 his hang72   dh11 hersb 721   dh11 hers 73

 

FEBRUARY 2011: Closet City was awarded “2011 Contractor of the Year” by the BucksMont chapter of NARI. The award was presented to our design consultant, Janet Stevenson, for a bedroom makeover project. For this bedroom, Janet collaborated with interior designer, Kim Beauvais, of Beauvais Design in Philadelphia. This project also won honorable mentions in CLOSETS magazine’s annual “Top Shelf” awards in February 2011.

before dz031e2   before dz035e2
Before


After
after dz012e2   after dz020e2   after dz024e   after dz065e

(These photos are courtesy of Don Unger Photography.)

 

First Design Home, OCTOBER 2010:

Our company was one of the proud sponsors of Philadelphia magazine’s Design Home 2010 in Gwynedd Valley. We were honored to be responsible for outfitting the kitchen pantry and all of the home’s closets. These included two large master walk ins. These closets showcased all of the splendor imaginable in a walk-in, such as crown molding and cabinetry. They also featured decorative hardware from Top Knobs. We also included several innovative organizing accessories from Rev-A-Shelf. These were just small samplings of the high quality accessory items we offer. Items that we feel will surely be “must have’s” in your own home.

A special detailed section about the design home was featured in Philadelphia magazine’s September 2010 issue. And the photos were spectacular! In addition to Closet and Fence City, many other local businesses showed off their handiwork in this magnificent home. There was everything from interior design, millwork, and landscaping to tile, lighting, stone work, and more. It truly was a showcase of fine craftsmanship and luxury! If you were not able to physically visit the home while it was open for public tours, you also had the opportunity to view the project online. This was possible via Philadelphia magazine’s Virtual Design Home website. (Each design home is online for 2 years).

MARCH 2010: We were awarded “2010 Contractor of the Year” by the BucksMont chapter of NARI. The award was presented in January to our design consultant, Janet Stevenson, for a combination walk-in closet and home office project. Janet orchestrated this project for a client in Mount Airy, PA. In February, the same project also earned Janet honorable mentions (2nd place) in the Top Shelf Design Awards sponsored by CLOSETS magazine.

hercloset web72   hiscloset web72   kidcloset web72   boyscloset web72   pantry web72

Certifications

Closet City became an EPA Lead Certified Firm. This is a legal requirement for all remodelers who work in older homes. And, it is one for which very few closet companies have become certified. You will find more information regarding this certification by clicking here.